Accidental Sexiness

FOR EVERYTHING HOT FROM MIAMI AND BEYOND

My review of The Mummy 3: Tomb of the Dragon Emperor August 8, 2008

I have just finished watching the Mummy 3: Tomb of the Dragon Emperor and am happy to report that I enjoyed every minute of it.  There are obviously a few points that I think did not make sense but overall it was a great movie.

The biggest complaint about the movie that I have heard has been about Maria Bello’s portrayal of Evelyn.  While I feel that she lacked that “spunk” that Rachel Weisz brought to the character I feel that she did the role justice.  It is very difficult to pick up a role after someone has made it their’s for a previous film much less two.  The same thing was said about Maggie Gyllenhaal for her portrayal of Rachel Dawes in The Dark Knight.  But I found that she brought out a different part of the character, made her real.  It would be a mistake to compare Bello to Weisz, just enjoy what she brings to that character.

The special effects were fantastic!  But no matter how many special effects they used they couldn’t disguise the fact that Rick (Brendan Fraser) doesn’t look like he’s aged at all but he has a son that is of college age?  I heard that was one of the reasons Rachel Weisz chose not to return because she didn’t find it realistic for her character to have a son that age.

The fight scenes kept me on the edge of my seat!  Jet Li is a total bad azz and I have to say the same for Michelle Yeoh.  During their fights scenes it made you feel like you were watching a dance.  They really worked brilliantly together.

Overall I feel that this movie exceeded my expectations.  This series has always been a little cheesy, you can’t deny that. But the fight scenes and landscape really made this one my favorite of the series.

 

Leave a Reply

